Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

St. Matts rallies to reach finals

Princeton Fastpitch League

PRINCETON — With its back to the wall, down 8-1 to St. Louis, St. Matthews Lutheran didn’t come out swinging Tuesday night in the Princeton Fastpitch Church League Tournament semifinals. Rather, they practiced some patience.

St. Matthews began to work the counts against St. Louis pitcher Brik Wedekind. That strategy led to key bases on balls ahead of some timely hitting that fueled its comeback.

St. Matthews scored four in the fourth to close within 8-5, three in the fifth to make it 9-8 and scored six in the sixth to rally for a 14-11 victory.

The winning rally in the sixth inning was highlighted by Levi Bates’ two-run homer to right-center; Eric Waca’s two-run triple for a 12-11 lead; and Matt Cochran’s two-run triple to make it 14-11.

Winning pitcher Brad Snethen went the distance for St. Matthews.

United Methodist knocked out Bureau Township 11-3 in Tuesday’s opener.

UMC and St. Louis had its loser’s bracket battle postponed from Thursday to Friday with the winner advancing to Saturday’s finals, having to beat St. Matthews twice.

• Church bulletin: St. Matthews (12-0), the three-time defending champion, advances to Saturday’s championship seeking to become just the third team dating back to 1980 to go undefeated.

St. Matthews finished 13-0 in 1995, defeating Bunker Hill in the championship game.

United Methodist went 15-0 in 1999, defeating St. Matthews for the league title.

St. Matthews has won 10 championships dating back to 1980, including 1982, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2012.

Last year’s finals saw St. Matthews beat Bureau Township to seal up its 3-Peat.

St. Matthews knocked off Methodist in 2015 and had to beat Bunker Hill twice in the finals in 2014.

You can also keep up with the church league on Facebook.

Comment on this story at

Loading more